Reviews



Quiet Oasis - Rating 5/5

This Guest House lives up to all of its description. Carole was delightful and very helpful with suggestions for dinner. Stayed only one night but would return for longer

Reviewer:Maria P | Fri 10th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Highly recommended- Rating 5/5

Thanks for a pleasurable stay. Lovely food,nice room, friendly staff and catered to all our needs. Would highly recommend.

Reviewer:Dorothy W | Tue 7th Aug 2018 | 4 months ago


Accommadtion- Rating 4/5

Good quality nice staff second time I have stop there

Reviewer:John W | Sat 28th Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Richmonds Best - Rating 5/5

My third visit to West End guest house and I can't speak highly enough of the welcome and friendly atmosphere. Carol and Chris are great hosts and will help in any way they can. Thanks for making me welcome once again.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim B | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Wonderful welcome - Rating 5/5

We cannot rate West End Guest House highly enough. After a tiring day on the Coast to Coast walk, we were given an exceptional welcome. Our room was large, beautifully decorated and equipped, and extremely comfortable and breakfast was excellent. We definitely want to stay again.

Reviewer:Lynn H | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Celebrating a 70th birthday in the area. - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely night stay, we had a twin room and the beds were so comfortable, and its in a quite area. The breakfast was enjoyable, a lot of choice to pick from. we will be staying again in the near future.

Reviewer:elizabeth h | Mon 23rd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Great Stay at West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Only one night but perfect! Spotlessly clean, great breakfast, and a genuinely caring hostess in Carol. I can recommend WestEnd without hesitation!

Reviewer:Stephen F | Sun 22nd Jul 2018 | 4 months ago


Recent Visit - Rating 4/5

We were made very welcome by Carol and were treated to a choice of cake and a drink on arrival.Our room was comfortable and spotlesslyclean and Carol was very friendly and willing to help wherever she could.The breakfast menu offered a very vast choice and were very generous portions.The small metal flasks in the bedrooms for fresh milk for drinks was a lovely idea.Would certainly return if we were in the area.

Reviewer:John & Margaret F | Thu 12th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


A great place to stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay. Very clean and tidy with all the facilities to make your stay pleasurable. Owner very friendly, helpful and efficient. We go back every year.

Reviewer:N S | Sat 7th Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


Wonderful stay at West End - Rating 5/5

Fabulous stay at West End Guest House. We were made to feel so welcome and at home. Comfy bed, beautiful room, delicious breakfast and charming hosts. Will definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Lynn H | Mon 2nd Jul 2018 | 5 months ago


short break - Rating 5/5

Excellent.Lovely Hosts

Reviewer:Amanda R | Sat 30th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Excellent establishment ! - Rating 5/5

I thoroughly enjoyed my stay at West End Guest House, and I found Carol to be a welcoming, helpful and brilliantly organised hostess. From the wide range of breakfast choices to the well-appointed rooms the attention to detail throughout was first rate.

Reviewer:Tim G | Fri 29th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Home from Home - Rating 4/5

A veryenjoyable two night stay.Friendly owners, nothing too much trouble.We received a free upgrade on arrival.Compact but very adequate room.Would go again.

Reviewer:Philip B | Thu 28th Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Travelling from Australia- Rating 5/5

Excellent accommodation great bed and excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:David M | Thu 21st Jun 2018 | 5 months ago


Fabulous- Rating 5/5

Again a wonderful stayBed very comfortable & breakfast is very goodCarol & Chris are a lovely couple and make you very welcomeWe love staying there

Reviewer:Susan T | Tue 12th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Thanks very much - Rating 5/5

We had a very comfortable one night stay - thank you. Breakfast is delicious and the range of options impressive.

Reviewer:Helen W | Sun 10th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Amazing place - Rating 4/5

Thank you so much for your hospitality last week, I would recommend your guest house to any one looking to stay in such a beautiful place.ThankyouDaren & Mel Stirling

Reviewer:Daren S | Mon 4th Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Super! - Rating 5/5

Super welcome and comfortable stay.Quiet room but not far from town.Particularly loved the puppy!

Reviewer:Charlotte F | Fri 1st Jun 2018 | 6 months ago


Highly rated - Rating 5/5

Lovely, comfortable room and warm, friendly hosts, great breakfast. Good location, would stay again.

Reviewer:Morag C | Tue 29th May 2018 | 6 months ago


A great stopover to northern ireland - Rating 5/5

On our way to the cairnryan ferry, we stopped overnight with Carole and Chris. Great welcome, clean comfortable rooms and a generous very tasty breakfast made sure of a lovely start to our holiday. Carole's company was the icing on the cake.

Reviewer:Judith M | Mon 28th May 2018 | 6 months ago


5 stars - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed a comfortable stopover here, easy parking and very quiet. Friendly, welcoming hosts and an attractive room.

Reviewer:Rachel E | Mon 28th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Let’s go back! - Rating 5/5

We had a sad occasion to travel to but we gladly decided to stop at Westend on the way.How lucky we were to find such a beautiful hotel with extremely kind and hospitable owners;everything was perfect.The breakfast was excellent and we slept extremely well in a very pleasant bedroom.Obviously this comes with a high recommendation.

Reviewer:Sarah I | Wed 23rd May 2018 | 6 months ago


Very comfortable stay - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed our night at the West send Guest House very much. Chris and Carol were extremely welcoming and our room was very clean and comfortable.Very good breakfast .

Reviewer:Mr and Mrs R C | Sat 19th May 2018 | 6 months ago


Friendly welcome - Rating 5/5

Worthy of the 4 stars, friendly welcome on arrival, good location.Clean and well presented, breakfast was excellent, room was well equipped with comfortable bed.Great local knowledge.

Reviewer:Keith H | Mon 7th May 2018 | 7 months ago


Fabulous overnight stay - Rating 5/5

We were attending a wedding at a nearby venue and chose the Westend Guest House due to location. I couldn’t recommend this place highly enough. Carol was a fantastic host and told us all about the local amenities, the rooms were gorgeous and the breakfast was superb. Would definitely stay here again.

Reviewer:jane c | Mon 30th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Mr &Mrs - Rating 5/5

Our stay at Westend guest house was very nice lovely room which was number one on thetop floor very quiet.Carol & Chris were very welcoming on arrival we were served tea & cake. Definitely stay again .

Reviewer:Paul S | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


Richmond\'s Westend - Rating 5/5

Westend B & B was an absolute gemMade to feel very welcomeWill be going back soon

Reviewer:Susan T | Tue 24th Apr 2018 | 7 months ago


One night in Richmond - Rating 5/5

Stayed one night only, the hosts were very welcoming on arrival and even gave us a lift into town for the function we were attending.The room was clean, tidy, comfortable and well decorated. Breakfast was outstanding.

Reviewer:David G | Mon 29th Jan 2018 | 10 months ago


Wedding visit - Rating 5/5

We stayed because we were going to a wedding in Richmond.What a fantastic host Carol was - she drove us to the venue rather than leave us to find a taxi.Excellent accommodation and breakfast.

Reviewer:Barry B | Tue 26th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Wedding visit - Rating 5/5

We stayed because we were going to a wedding in Richmond.What a fantastic host Carol was - she drove us to the venue rather than leave us to find a taxi.Excellent accommodation and breakfast.

Reviewer:Barry B | Tue 26th Dec 2017 | 11 months ago


Lovely! - Rating 5/5

We were only staying one night, passing through en route further north. Would book again, everything was great. Comfy room and bed, great breakfast, couldn't ask for more really.

Reviewer:Tim G | Thu 23rd Nov 2017 | 1 year ago


Brilliant overnight stay! - Rating 5/5

We had a brilliant time at the guesthouse.we had a very warm welcome - couldn’t have asked for a kinder reception. The rooms were cosy and the breakfast was fantastic. Definitely recommend and hope to make it back one day

Reviewer:Clare T | Sat 21st Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


our stay westend guest house - Rating 5/5

excellent very friendly nothing any trouble breakfast 10 out of 10 highly recomended

Reviewer:DAVID B | Sun 15th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent accommodation,would recommend - Rating 5/5

We all thoroughly enjoyed our stay here. The bedrooms were really comfortable and tastefully decorated.Carol and Chris were were most welcoming and helpful. The breakfast was superb. Would definitely recommend.

Reviewer:John C | Mon 9th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Friendly and efficient - Rating 5/5

Always a pleasure and nothing too much bother for a guest. Safe and secure and comfortable. What more could you want.

Reviewer:Mrs. Judith S | Thu 5th Oct 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect stay - Rating 5/5

Beautiful rooms, very clean with everything you could need.Chris and carol were super nice and helpful.Delicious breakfast cooked to perfection

Reviewer:Jo A | Wed 20th Sep 2017 | 1 year ago


Couldn\'t Have Been Better - Rating 5/5

I recommend staying at West End , Carol and Chris are such good hosts and lovely caring people. Nothing is to much trouble. Our room was spotless , the bed was very comfy. We will go back. Diana & George Sherman

Reviewer:Diana S | Thu 31st Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Very comfortable - Rating 5/5

Its exactly as described. Friendly hosts, top breakfast, comfy room, close enough to town, and reasonably priced.

Reviewer:Richard E | Mon 14th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


would recommend - Rating 4/5

Nice peaceful spot. Nice clean rooms, decorated nicely. lovely breakfast very well cooked.Very nice friendly owners with good local knowledge.Only negative from our point of view was we are allergic to dogs and owner has one, although it is in the non guest area.

Reviewer:Wendy P | Sun 13th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely Guest House - Rating 5/5

I enjoyed my recent stay in this friendly, comfortable guest house. It has a good location, my room was very comfortableand they serve an excellent breakfast with plenty of choice,I can't fault the place. I hope to stay there again when I next visit Richmond.

Reviewer:Dominic R | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


The Perfect Guest House - Rating 5/5

We arrived at West End Guest House to a very, very warm welcome.We were offered tea and cake which was very much appreciated after a long journey.Our room was lovely with a good range of teas, coffees and chocolate drinks. Everywhere in the West End Guest House was spotless.The breakfast was delicious, plentiful and well presented. Our hosts, Carol and Chris were such a delightful couple who created a wonderful, homely atmosphere. We would not hesitate to stay again.

Reviewer:Maurice S | Sat 12th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


8th to 10th august - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed our stay with you. Comfortable room and bed, good breakfast. Well looked after.

Reviewer:William Roger H | Fri 11th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


richmond break - Rating 5/5

had a brilliant stay at the west end guest house, on arrival we were offered a piece of cake and a drink which was a nice touch, carol and chris who run the guest house were really friendly and helpful, plenty of info about the area, lovely breakfasts good choice, house and room were lovely and clean would definitely go back.

Reviewer:helen c | Thu 10th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Breaking our trip north - Rating 5/5

Stayed at West End on the way to a family wedding in Northumberland.The hosts are excellent and the property lived up to our expectations - very clean, comfortable and homely.Lovely breakfast served in a bright and airy room.Will return if we are in the area in the future

Reviewer:Mr. Malcolm G | Tue 8th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Very enjoyble stay at West End - Rating 5/5

Stayed for 2 nights in twin room.Very comfortable with ensuite facilities.Excellent breakfast with plenty of choice. Chris and Carol are really good hosts and make you feel very welcome from the moment you arrive.Would certainly go back for another visit

Reviewer:Patricia M | Sun 6th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


c2c walk stay - Rating 5/5

stayed 2 nights on coast to coast walk. Excellent hospitality, with nothing too much trouble. Very gracious hosts. Qualityxperience all round. Nice and quiet situation back from road about 10 min walk into town. Recommended.

Reviewer:Jasonand Esther Mae L | Fri 4th Aug 2017 | 1 year ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

This was our second stay at Westend guest house which should tell you something straight away. Lovely hosts and lovely rooms. Ten minutes walk from Richmond. Excellent breakfast with a great menu choice.

Reviewer:Jim B | Mon 31st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Our stay - Rating 5/5

Excellent acommodation and friendly hosts plus superb breakfasts - all you could eat.

Reviewer:Mrs. Hilda D | Sat 29th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


thank you - Rating 5/5

lovey welcome. Spotlessly clean room and bathroom.Excellent breakfastGood location

Reviewer:Pat H | Fri 28th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful find, breakfast was amazing, bed and room very very comfortable. Welcome was second to none. We were staying overnight following an evening wedding reception. On arrival atbthe guesthouse we were warmly welcomed by Carol who offered to drive us to our venue......so kind and so generous. She dropped us at the door and provided numbers for reliable taxi for our return Journey. She really went the extra mile. I would whole heartedly reccommend this gem of a lodging. Thank you Carole.

Reviewer:Maria O | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Perfect Stay - Rating 5/5

Wonderful find, breakfast was amazing, bed and room very very comfortable. Welcome was second to none. We were staying overnight following an evening wedding reception. On arrival atbthe guesthouse we were warmly welcomed by Carol who offered to drive us to our venue......so kind and so generous. She dropped us at the door and provided numbers for reliable taxi for our return Journey. She really went the extra mile. I would whole heartedly reccommend this gem of a lodging. Thank you Carole.

Reviewer:Maria O | Thu 27th Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed just one night, while visiting friends in the area. The bedroom was spacious and comfortable. Nice to have two easy chairs, a facility found in only the more expensive hotels. Numerous breakfast options made choosing difficult, but the food was delicious. Highly recommended, would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Derek McLuckiejust a s | Sun 23rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Quiet and comfortable stay. - Rating 5/5

We had a very pleasant stay here for one night. House is set back far enough from the main road to allow total silence all night. Room was comfortable too. In the morning breakfast was lovely with plenty of choice. Finally,, hosts were lovely and made us feel very welcome.Flying visit to the area for a specific event this time, but we plan to return to explore more. Would definitely stay here again if we do.

Reviewer:Vernon H | Mon 3rd Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent B&B - Rating 5/5

We were in the twin room. A very quiet room, which was well appointed. The beds were very comfortable.A great choice for breakfast at the time to suit you.Carol and Chris are fanadtic hosts.

Reviewer:Gary G | Sat 1st Jul 2017 | 1 year ago


West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Lovely room and a very warm welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. Excellent breakfast. Would certainly stay there again.

Reviewer:John & Chris WaddingtonGOING TO WEDDING1 O | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


coast to coast - Rating 5/5

Had a lovely night stay here, both Carol & Chris were very friendly & helpful and inviting. Room was well equipped and very comfortable. Would stay here again without question. Well recommended.

Reviewer:David T | Fri 30th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful! - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed staying here, we were made to feel very welcome, the room was lovely and clean in every way. The owners were really nice and friendly. Looking forward to staying there again.... soon hopefully xx

Reviewer:Sue A | Thu 29th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Superb Accommodation in Richmond- Rating 5/5

Welcoming and friendly hosts.Clean and comfortable rooms.Excellent breakfast.Convenient parking.Quiet area with peaceful gardens.

Reviewer:Cheryl P | Wed 28th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

We stay in a lot of b n b's and this is the best I've been in for years!When we arrived Carole made us a pot of coffee and a pot of tea and some delicious fruit loaf. The room was lovely and had everything that we would need, including shower caps and sewing kit! Breakfast was amazing, huge choice, I had summer fruits and Skyr yoghurt, and eggs benedict, cooked to perfection. My husband had porridge, American pancakes with bacon and 2 croissants (one chocolate). Oh, and proper coffee. Carole, you ticked ALL my boxes (no mean feat!)

Reviewer:Mary L | Sun 25th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

Everything covered for the wettest walkers on the coast to coast.Dry clothes and boots the next morning after a comfy nights sleep and a fantastic breakfast.Lovely people who waved us off on our way.loved it!!x

Reviewer:Mrs. Lindsay G | Mon 12th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely guesthouse- Rating 4/5

A very pleasant stat at West End guest house, had one night en route coast to coast, lovely breakfast, comfy room, perfect for what we needed

Reviewer:Jane S | Thu 8th Jun 2017 | 1 year ago


New Visitors, But a must to return. - Rating 5/5

We love Richmond and its Area and Town, This was our first stay at this Guest House,Firstly, The Off Street parking was very good,Secondly, The Friendlyness of the people in the West End Guest House was excellent , That alone would bring us back. But so would our Breakfast.Normaly we would have had a complete breakfast, Butthis was Green Howards Sunday, and a very busy day so only had a small breakfast, with orange.Our Breakfast was perfact, and we were well looked after.Our room was just right, Shower, Nice soft bed, not too soft mind, Just right for us both.Nice front Garden Area, if just wanting to sit in sun.Nice gentle walk into town. say 10/15mins walk, look out for the carvings in the trees as you walk into town, Plus two very large stone dogs.Very Nice Guest House to stay in Richmond.If you are into History, Note large building on main road across from West End Guest House.

Reviewer:Dennis G | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 4/5

Had a really lovely time at this guest house. Owners could not have been more accommodating. Beautiful house only a 10 minute walk away from town. Chris took people in to town who weren't as mobile as us. Comfortable room with delicious breakfast. Great guest house, great owners, great place, great stay 👍

Reviewer:Jane T | Tue 16th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely home from home- Rating 5/5

1st class room. breakfast and service

Reviewer:Elizabeth C | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely home from home- Rating 5/5

1st class room. breakfast and service

Reviewer:Elizabeth C | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Lovely home from home- Rating 5/5

1st class room. breakfast and service

Reviewer:Elizabeth C | Mon 8th May 2017 | 1 year ago


Wonderful - Rating 5/5

Absolute pleasure staying at the west end guest house. So friendly, they could not do enoughfor us. Spotlessly clean, we will be back.

Reviewer:Colin P | Mon 1st May 2017 | 1 year ago


Short break - Rating 5/5

Very friendly welcome made even better by tea and home made cake. Room very comfortable and an excellent breakfast.

Reviewer:David B | Sat 29th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


First trip to Richmond - Rating 5/5

Thanks for a very warm welcome.Very comfortable room.Brilliant breakfast.

Reviewer:Steven B | Wed 19th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Easter one night break - Rating 5/5

As a regular visitor to Richmond, West End Guest House is always my chosen accomodation, the house is lovely and Carol and Chris are very friendly and welcoming, it is in a quiet location with great parking facilities. Would highly recommend this establishment to all my friends and family.

Reviewer:Mrs. Mary P | Tue 18th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Excellent stay - Rating 5/5

We had a very good stay at West End Guest House and would highly recommend it. Carol and Chris were welcoming and attentive hosts without being intrusive. The only downside was the lack of a reliable wifi connection but that was a minor niggle in an otherwise perfect stay.

Reviewer:Simon W | Mon 10th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Very nice.- Rating 5/5

Only stayed one evening. Great location for me to get to Richmond Market Place with free parking space provided. I booked single room but it had a small double bed and was a good size with really good en suite. R ally well decorated, clean and maintained, I was very comfortable, it was also nice and quiet. Breakfast was excellent, I couldn't finish it! Fresh coffee, juice plus the quality of sausages and bacon was really good, they were noticeably nice!! The owners are really nice and friendly too. I would definitely stay here again and recommend it to others.

Reviewer:Caroline G | Sun 9th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


visit to richmond - Rating 5/5

we stayed at this guest house for three nights it was a brilliant stay the hosts were fantastic and the breakfast was amazing, will be staying there again when next up that waythank you for such a oomfy bed and bedroom never slept so well

Reviewer:sylvia h | Tue 4th Apr 2017 | 1 year ago


Clean and comfortable guest house - Rating 5/5

West End Guest House is a very comfortable and clean guest house with a friendly welcome when you arrive. I would recommend this guest house which is value for money.

Reviewer:Lynn C | Mon 20th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


The best nights sleep for many months - Rating 5/5

A lovely place to stay with a very warm welcome and the most comfortable room I could have wished for. I would have no hesitation in returning.

Reviewer:Kay B | Sat 18th Mar 2017 | 1 year ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

A lovely quiet clean place just out of the town centre, made even better by our fantastic hosts Chris and Carol.From tea and fruitcake on arrival to even driving our bag to our departure point, nothing was too much trouble. We will definitely be back!

Reviewer:Paul T | Thu 19th Jan 2017 | 1 year ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

We chose West End partly because of the other reviews but mostly because it was conveniently near the family we were visiting.All I can say is 'what a find'! From the warm friendly welcome, the advice on where to eat out, advice on local walks, comfortable room and fantastic breakfast -we couldn't have wished for better hosts than Carol & Chris.Thank you.

Reviewer:Susan M | Mon 12th Dec 2016 | 1 year ago


weekend stay - Rating 5/5

Peaceful. Comfortable. Friendly service and fab breakfast from a wide choice of locally sourced foods. Plenty of parking. Excellent stay that made visiting Richmond even more special.

Reviewer:Kim S | Mon 5th Dec 2016 | 2 years ago


Review - Rating 4/5

A nice clean friendly run guest house in a lovely spot . Very cosy with good facilities and an excellent breakfast before your departure

Reviewer:David W | Mon 28th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Outstanding Customer Focus. - Rating 5/5

From the very outset our hosts made us feel like guests in their home. We travelled as two couples as two of us were taking partin a cycling event. Chris & Carol tucked our bikes up in their own cabin and even got up early to feed us the next day. It is the quietest nights sleep I have known in years in a lovely room. The food was excellent. Would I stay again? Of course! Thank you.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Sun 13th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Trip to Richmond - Rating 5/5

West End Guest House is a fabulous B& B.Beautiful spot.Very comfortable room and great breakfast.The hosts are a very friendly couple who make you feel most welcome.

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Visit to Richmond - Rating 5/5

West End Guest House is a fabulous B& B.Beautiful spot.Very comfortable room and great breakfast.The hosts are a very friendly couple who make you feel most welcome.

Reviewer:Paul B | Tue 8th Nov 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stay - Rating 5/5

2 COUPLES STAYING IN THE SUPER KINGSIZE AND THE KINGSIZE ROOMS. LOVELY SPACIOUS ROOMS AND COMFORTABLE BEDS.PLENTY OF CHOICE FOR BREAKFAST MENU, I HAD THE FULL ENGLISH I WOULD HIGHLY RECOMENDEDIT....

Reviewer:Andy H | Sun 30th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Very Comfortable - Rating 5/5

Our one night stay was as part of a quick trip to visit family so we did not get to see much of the area. Carol and Chris greeted us on arrival and offered us help with the town and places to eat that evening. The room (4) was very comfortable and spacious. Breakfast was excellent and we chose from a wide range on offer. Chris helped me plan a route that avoided traffic problems and printed a map. We would certainly recommend West End and hope to return next time we are in the area. Thank you for a very nice stay.

Reviewer:Roy S | Sat 29th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Couldn\'t have been better- Rating 5/5

Owners are such a warm & friendly couple you cant fail to have a great stay here. Great facilities, comfortable bed and magnificent breakfast. We'll be back.

Reviewer:Lesley B | Wed 19th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


West Ebd Guest House - Rating 5/5

Booked as a surprise for husbands birthday. Carol was a welcoming host, room was lovely, ideal location and a tasty breakfast included with a wide variety of choices. Wouldn't hesitate to book again, I can highly recommend!

Reviewer:Julie G | Mon 17th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


A very comfortable and welcoming stay - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome, had a nice comfortable bed and breakfast passed the sausage testExcellent all round and highly recommended

Reviewer:Nick G | Tue 11th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Different but nearly as good as is used to be. - Rating 4/5

I have stayed here before, under it's previous owners, in 2010 and in 2012, for stays of 8 to 10 days on two occasions and 2 or 3 nights on another. After those earlier visits I considered this to be possibly the best B& B, in a reasonable price bracket, that I had ever used.It's still good. The new owners are friendly. Breakfast food options are still wide and well cooked.The parking by the front door is such a valuable feature of this B& B. The trays in the hall for drying walking boots are valuable.There are quirks of the architecture of which one has to be wary. My room had three steps up to the en suite toilet/shower room. Stone cold sober, heading there in the dark in the middle of the night one night early in my stay, I tripped after the first step, not yet being accustomed to the fact that there were three steps, and badly grazed my shin on one of the higher steps.One serious criticism I have is that although staying for 10 nights I was not offered any reduction over the full single occupancy daily charge despite there clearly being reduced laundry and adminstration costs etc. I did not ask. I did not feel that I should have needed to ask. That should be built in to the charging structure.

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


A comfortable place to stay- Rating 4/5

Good welcome cup of tea, fruit cake and Swaledale cheese and an excellent breakfast. A quiet and comfortable place to stay.The only downsides were Rm3 had several steps internally and a rather small en-suite. No phone signal until outside.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan H | Mon 10th Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Warm welcome - Rating 5/5

We were warmly welcomed by Chris with tea and cake on arrival. Great B& B. Good secure parking. Great breakfast.

Reviewer:Stephen R | Mon 3rd Oct 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend away- Rating 5/5

Lovely house, very welcoming, perfect location for Yorkshire dales.

Reviewer:Simon E | Mon 26th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly Recommended Guest House - Rating 5/5

Carol & Chris are very amiable and helpful hosts, who run a high quality B& B. Their rooms are well-appointed (we were in room 4) and very quiet - the property being set back from a relatively quiet road, anyway. The breakfast choice is excellent and extremely well cooked. It’s a ten minute uphill walk into Richmond centre, which means that the return leg is much easier, once you’ve been fed and watered! We wouldn’t hesitate to stay here again, if in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. Sid H | Thu 22nd Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely Richmond - Rating 5/5

This is a really nice place to stay. A short walk to the town. Lovely breakfast and very comfy bed and quiet room. Felt more homely than lots of other places and reasonably priced. Owners friendly and relaxed. thanks for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Miss. claire r | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Relaxing time in Richmond - Rating 4/5

Our stay at the West End Guest House was most relaxing and I was only sorry that I couldn't have stayed longer. I was walking the Coast to Coast and scheduled my rest day in Richmond and we were made to feel most welcome from the time we arrived. The house is old but has a 'homely' feel about it and is exceptionally clean, quiet and comfortable. The breakfast can be as much or as little as you need and is all freshly cooked and served by the cheerful, helpful and friendly owners. I stayed in one of their holiday cottages earlier this year which I would also recommend which prompted me to book the West End for my stay this time. Certainly the place to be for a relaxing break.

Reviewer:Peter W | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


First class - Rating 5/5

We stayed for one night and were impressed with everything from the friendly welcome, the quality furnishings, the information provided re local amenities, to the super breakfast which was cheerfully provided extra early to accommodate our needs. All for a very reasonable price.

Reviewer:Fiona C | Mon 19th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Great stopping-off location - Rating 5/5

We stayed at West End Guest House for one night as a stopover on our way to the Isle of Arran from Cambs. Extremely comfortable, clean twin en-suite bedroom. Excellent breakfast. Quiet location with good parking facilities. Friendly, welcoming owners.

Reviewer:Ann M | Mon 12th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Great place to stay - Rating 5/5

This is the second time we have stayed. A friendly warm welcome. The rooms are very clean and comfortable. The full english breakfast was amazing, so much we even went to the butchers to get the bacon. We will most definatley stay here again. Oh and thanks to chris we got to visit the culloden tower too.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary F | Sun 4th Sep 2016 | 2 years ago


Beautiful - Rating 5/5

Beautiful family run guesthouse we stayed in room 1 it was stunning with beautiful views of the garden. Carol and chris are a very friendly couple who made us very welcome in their home and what a amazing home they have thank you for a lovely stay.

Reviewer:Darrin T | Thu 25th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Had a most warm welcome from the hosts Carol and Chris,a great place to stay and in an ideal location,would recommend it to anyone, we couldn't of asked for more.

Reviewer:Stephen K | Wed 24th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Fabulous Guest House - Rating 5/5

From the warm welcome to the excellent breakfast everything here was 5 star. Beautiful Georgian house, lovely room, very comfy bed, 5 minute walk to Market Square. Definitely be staying here again.

Reviewer:Gwen B | Mon 22nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Two night stay - Rating 5/5

Had apleasant stay in a very comfortable room. Breakfast was excellent. Carol and Chris are very welcoming and helpful. Will stay again if in the area

Reviewer:Philip M | Fri 19th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Recommended - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed an excellent stay. Lovely room and breakfast.Plenty of parking space.Opportunities to quiz Coast to Coast walkers as many stay there, whilst on their travels.

Reviewer:Mr. CLIVE R | Sun 14th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely House:Lovely Owners. - Rating 5/5

We were made very welcome from the moment we arrived. We were given helpful suggestions about local attractions and places to eat. The house has a very friendly atmosphere. The breakfast was first class and plentiful.

Reviewer:Paul B | Fri 12th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Last minute night away - Rating 5/5

Stayed here on 7th august for one night for a last minute getaway for my birthday and quite simply,I cannot fault the place. The hosts were perfect, the room was huge and very clean and tidy and my breakfast was unforgettable. Eggs benedict with the freshest eggs I've ever had and cooked to utter perfection. No compunction about stopping here again as the location is quiet and the garden is a small haven. Excellent bed and breakfast.

Reviewer:Peter R | Tue 9th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


6th August - Rating 4/5

Great place to stay not far from Market Sq. We had a super king size bed brill.

Reviewer:Alex A | Mon 8th Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Wonderful West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Beautiful house, extremely comfortable bed, wonderful food and very welcoming and friendly hosts. Could not ask for a better experience, it was an amazing place to stay.

Reviewer:SARAH C | Wed 3rd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


excellent hosts - Rating 5/5

This is the secondweekend we have stayed at the West End. Carol and Chris make you feel extremely welcome and the breakfasts are marvellous. The B& B is situated up a private drive with off street parking on the outskirts of Richmond and is a 10 minute walk into the town centre. I have no hesitation in recommending the B& B and intend to stay here again next year!

Reviewer:Philip A | Tue 2nd Aug 2016 | 2 years ago


Very pleasant b and B. - Rating 4/5

Pleasant and comfortable Guesthouse.Ideally situated,with own parking,and just a short walk to the town centre and it's attractions.

Reviewer:John R | Sat 30th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Stunning place to stay - Rating 5/5

What a lovely welcome I had from Carol, with a cup of tea offered. My room was excellent. Such a choice for breakfast, but I went for the full English, with locally cured bacon as Chris explained. Westend is 10 minutes from Richmond and a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Jim B | Mon 25th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Annual summer break - Rating 5/5

My wife and I have just returned home from our second visit to West End guest house.The standard is excellent,The breakfast menu has a good variation of choice.The guest house is spotless and the rooms are excellent,Chris and Carol are very good hosts and any requests are welcome.I shall be returning next for a further break. C J & R Jerome.

Reviewer:Mr. Christopher J | Sun 24th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

As they say themselves, Westend is a lovely quirky B and B. The room I had was lovely - although a single room it had a double bed and there was plenty of room. Carol and Chris are very friendly and down to earth and would help anyway they could. Plenty of choice for brekkie too and my scrambled eggs and salmon were featherlight. A treat staying here from start to finish. Thank you.

Reviewer:Kath G | Sat 23rd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Friendly,helpful couple,who make you feel welcome.good clean accomodation, well equipped rooms,excellent food.highly recommended.

Reviewer:Susan R | Fri 22nd Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


An excellent guest house - Rating 5/5

The guest house is in a lovely quiet location with easy access to the town. We received a warm welcome, our room was very comfortable providing a good night's sleep and we enjoyed the hearty breakfast next morning. We would definitely recommend the Westend. Thankyou

Reviewer:Patricia P | Mon 18th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Amazing B&B in a beautiful landscape - Rating 5/5

A great place to stay:peaceful, great breakfest, lovely People, very, very clean, quiet, pretty, just wunderful :-)

Reviewer:Ms. Eva-Maria S | Wed 13th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Girls weekend- Rating 4/5

Had a great time. Clean comfortable rooms, lovely deco. Varied selection for breakfast, very tasty!

Reviewer:Margaret G | Mon 4th Jul 2016 | 2 years ago


Best end... - Rating 5/5

An instantly friendly and warm welcome. Very understanding of our early check-in needs. Pointed us in the direction of a fine coffee house in Richmond. Good parking, nice room, full facilities, freedom to arrive back late after a wedding reception. Lovely breakfast with reasonable banter for a Man City supporter (Wembley 2013 - we were there!)...

Reviewer:Andrew D | Mon 27th Jun 2016 | 2 years ago


Weekend break - Rating 5/5

A lovely house, full of period charm. Thank you for making us so welcome. The accommodation was all that could be desired. The food was delicious. We would definitely stay with you if we come to Richmond again.

Reviewer:K H | Mon 30th May 2016 | 2 years ago


West end guest house - Rating 5/5

Friendly, comfortable, great breakfasts,lovely house, nothing too much trouble

Reviewer:Geoff E | Mon 23rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


20/21 May 2016 - Rating 5/5

Excellent B& B, welcoming hosts, splendid breakfasts, clean and comfortable room and en suite, with all facilities and pleasant decor. Mr & Mrs Cookson went out of their way to ensure that we had all we needed - and more. Real family atmosphere. We hope to come again.

Reviewer:Mr. David L | Mon 23rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Very good accommodation in Richmond - Rating 4/5

Very hospitable hosts, comfortable bedroom and a good freshly cooked breakfast- just as a good guest house should be.

Reviewer:Thomas W | Thu 19th May 2016 | 2 years ago


West end stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed overnight on the 6th May 2016. Carol and Chris were very friendly. The house is very well decorated and clean. We were able to walk into Richmond which is only ten minutes away which has numerous pubs and restaurants to choose from. We had an excellent sleep and it was so quiet.We both had a lovely breakfast before continuing our travels to Harrogate. Would highly recommend staying here and look forward to returning very soon.

Reviewer:Simon H | Tue 10th May 2016 | 2 years ago


- Rating 5/5

first class, friendly and a great breakfast

Reviewer:Elizabeth Z | Mon 9th May 2016 | 2 years ago


frequent guests - Rating 5/5

Carol and Chris cannot do enough to make your stay a pleasant and enjoyable one, they look after you like one of the family, beautiful guest house, comfortable beds and an excellent breakfast, nothing is too much trouble, we will be booking again very soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. mary p | Tue 3rd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Next time we\'ll stay longer! - Rating 5/5

I got the last available room which was the small double. However this was fine for a one night stay - beautifully furnished and spotlessly clean. The bed was against one wall (hence small double) but was extremely comfortable. The breakfast was excellent - cooked to order with perfect poached eggs. The owners were extremely welcoming and nothing was too much trouble - we'll definitely stay again!

Reviewer:Ms. Diane L | Mon 2nd May 2016 | 2 years ago


Best In The Universe - Rating 5/5

West End Guest House is exceptional. A wonderful early nineteenth century home that is comfortably appointed. Carol and Chris are superb hosts and the breakfasts are the best. I use the word home purposefully. It feels like home.

Reviewer:Barry S | Sun 1st May 2016 | 2 years ago


Great B&B - Rating 5/5

Excellent B& B. Quiet location and friendly owners. Only a short walk from town centre. Clean and very comfortable. Excellent choice for breakfast. Best B & B I have stayed in for a while. Would choose again if visiting Richmond!

Reviewer:John C | Sat 23rd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


Lovely - Rating 4/5

Excellent breakfast😀

Reviewer:Donna G | Sun 17th Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


wedding anniversary - Rating 4/5

brilliant breakfast.wish we had known the host was a taxi driver!!!.she had booked a table for us at a restaurant in Richmond.we left at 6-00 pm. next morning we learnt she had knocked to take us to the restaurant because of the weather but we had already left, nothing was to much trouble for her. will stay again.

Reviewer:Martyn J | Sun 3rd Apr 2016 | 2 years ago


West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent Excellent Excellent!!!!!!! Super service, super clean, super hosts, super food!!!!!!The only place we have stopped at and felt completely comfortable in every way!!!

Reviewer:Mark F | Tue 29th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

Beautiful room with good facilities. Lovely friendly owners and excellent breakfast. Would deffo stay again.

Reviewer:Erin B | Mon 28th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Stay at West End Guest House - Rating 4/5

We were made to feel very welcome with tea and cake on arrival. Our room was was large and had a very comfortable king size bed along with plenty of storage . We had a really good choice for breakfast and the food was good quality . Off road parking was a real bonus as we could leave the car and walk into town , about 15 mins to the centre of town . We would recommend staying in Richmond for a short break at West End G H .

Reviewer:Kathryn M | Sat 19th Mar 2016 | 2 years ago


Excellent stay- Rating 5/5

Fantastic guest house. We were able to check in early and greeted by a fabulous host and her lovely doggie. Comfy beds and a great breakfast.Will Definetly stay againThanks

Reviewer:Laura B | Mon 29th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Great Little Guest House - Rating 5/5

The couple that own it were lovely, the room and en-suite were spotless and comfortable. Great value for money, I would definitely recommend and would stay there again.

Reviewer:Lee G | Sat 13th Feb 2016 | 2 years ago


Paul & Lorna- Rating 5/5

We were greeted warmly and friendly with an offer of tea and cake.Accommodation was very comfortable with an excellent breakfast.Highly recommended.5

Reviewer:Paul L | Sat 23rd Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


The best place to stay in Richmond - Rating 5/5

Everything about our stay here was great.A welcome from the host with coffee & cake,comfortable bed,very tasty eggs benedict,advice on where to go.A charming couple who even gave us a huge wedge of Swalesdale cheese to take with us.Definitely the place to stay in Richmond

Reviewer:Mrs. Rosemary D | Fri 1st Jan 2016 | 2 years ago


Really accommodating- Rating 5/5

We were made to feel welcome and as one of us is vegan breakfast can sometimes be a navigation of labels. This time however, every effort was made to make sure we were happy. Soya milk had been bought especially and we just didn't have to worry about how food was cooked etc. Big thanks from us!

Reviewer:Iain D | Mon 21st Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


minimoon - Rating 5/5

Loved our stay . Amazing hosts made our time there memorable as we just got married. The snow made it even more magical. Thakyou for everything.

Reviewer:Winders h | Mon 14th Dec 2015 | 2 years ago


west end guest house - Rating 5/5

we thouroughly enjoyed our stay everything was first class and we would not hesitate to book again when we are up that way again !

Reviewer:Alan P | Fri 4th Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


Super guest house - Rating 5/5

A lovely night's stay. Very welcoming with pot of tea and fruit cake with cheese! Excellent breakfastand most comfortable room. We will certainly stay there again. Thank you!

Reviewer:Susan D | Tue 1st Dec 2015 | 3 years ago


We will be back... - Rating 5/5

Easy to find and pleased that there was a large car park available. After being shown our twin room, Carol made us a pot of coffee which was accompanied with home made fruit cake and cheese - a very welcome mid afternoon snack.The following morning, our daughter, who lives near by, turned up to have breakfast with us!This didn't bother Carol even though we already running late for breakfast.In short a lovely stay in very welcoming B& B.Thank you!

Reviewer:Christopher P | Sun 22nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Exceptional - Rating 5/5

Exceptional guest house - lovely people, delicious breakfast, excellent facilities.

Reviewer:Marj C | Tue 10th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Theatre stopover - Rating 5/5

Perfect location for our brief stay in Richmond. Delicious breakfast and very very welcoming atmosphere. Loved hearing about the lovely border collies.

Reviewer:Anne N | Mon 9th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Highly recomended - Rating 5/5

Lovely setup great welcome and a lovely room also great breakfast too. I would and will be going back next time im in the area ..

Reviewer:Lee M | Sat 7th Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight break - Rating 4/5

The hosts were very helpful offering leaflets and information on things to do, places to visit and eat. The guest house is in a quiet location not too far from the town square (10-15 mins walk). The full English breakfast was very good there was different choices if you wanted to be good.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian M | Mon 2nd Nov 2015 | 3 years ago


West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Excellent Guest House, very clean, good food (breakfast). Chris and Carol were absolutely brilliant and so friendly. Would definitely stay here again and highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Jo B | Thu 29th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Lovely location and service- Rating 5/5

Stayed here for 1 night whilst visiting our son in Catterick, room was very comfortable and clean, good breakfast in the morning would highly recommend this friendly guest house

Reviewer:Nerys T | Sun 25th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


2 night stay in Richmond - Rating 4/5

We really enjoyed our stay with Carol and Chris for 2 nights in Richmond.The property is conveniently located only 10 minutes walk to the town and as the weather was fine it was no problem for us to leave the car in the ample car park. The house and rooms are immaculate and the breakfast was beautifully cooked using the finest ingredients.We stayed in room 4 and the only slight criticism was that the bed was not particularly comfortable (a little hard).I would however recommend and quite happily stay again. 5 stars with better bed.

Reviewer:Craig S | Sat 24th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Unexpectedly warm welcome- Rating 5/5

My stay at the West End Guest House was absolutely amazing. Considering the price the room surprised me a lot as it was extremely comfortable, clean and cosy. I was asked to fill out a breakfast form thanks to which my Eggs Benedict (superb!) were ready exactly when I wanted them! My hosts were very nice and friendly. I will definitely be back in the future!

Reviewer:Jana S | Tue 20th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


Weekend Base - Rating 5/5

A lovely, friendly, well maintained, comfortable B& B.Great hosts, great breakfast, great rooms.Made to feel welcome.

Reviewer:Paul A | Mon 12th Oct 2015 | 3 years ago


West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

A lovely, friendly plan to stay. Excellent room, breakfast and atmosphere. I would recommend it to anyone. Great attention to detail to make everything perfect.

Reviewer:Mrs. Dolores W | Fri 11th Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


West end guest house Aug 2015 - Rating 4/5

Chris and Carole were very helpful with whatever we needed. Well placed for walking in to Richmond. Peaceful location. Comfortable room.

Reviewer:Ms. Cathy M | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


Couldn\'t wish for any more` - Rating 5/5

We had a lovely break when we stayed here in August.We were met upon arrival by the owner, who promptly offered us a cup of tea and slice of fresh cake.We stayed in 'the small double', which was hardly a squeeze.It was clean, nicely decorated, warm and there was a comfortable bed.Breakfast was lovely too and set us up for a day's walking.For those who can't go anywhere without WIFI, we got a strong, reliable and very fast connection.The guesthouse is just ten minutes stroll from Richmond town centre.Summary:We could not have asked for any more and we will stay here again next time we are in the area.

Reviewer:Mr. James T | Tue 1st Sep 2015 | 3 years ago


great guest house - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend staying here, lovely rooms, Carol and Chris are lovely hosts and make you feel welcome immediately, great food and great surroundings, me and my family will definitely return very soon

Reviewer:Philip D | Mon 31st Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Small but cosey - Rating 5/5

Very clean, comfortable, room and bathroom a bit on smallside but cosey. Lovely breakfast, nice hosts to keep you amused at breakfas . Ideal location for several lovely places to visit.

Reviewer:Sally D | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent place to stay in Richmond - Rating 5/5

Really enjoyed a brief stay in West End Guest House which provided an ideal place from which to visit this great market town. The room was comfortable and nice furnished but the stand out features were the hosts who made us feel very welcome and couldn't do enough to help.

Reviewer:Richard W | Tue 25th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Serendipity! - Rating 5/5

If you are looking for accommodation in Richmond you can do no better than to stay at West End. This is really hospitality at it's very best. Carol is one of life's endearing characters who rules her roost with charm and efficiency. Nothing is too much trouble, right down to rushing out to the car with an umbrellas when we were caught returning in a downpour. The breakfasts are superb (do try the pancakes...amazing)and the welcoming cake and coffee a lovely and much needed touch after a long journey. Chris too plays his part with a wealth of local history at his fingertips. When we were fretting about directions or the weather he disappeared to his 'man cave' and returned with detailed maps and a weather report which would have put the BBC to shame. It was a delightful stay and we will definitely be returning. Thank you Carol and Chris.

Reviewer:Nikki L | Mon 24th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Beautiful guest house in a wonderful location - Rating 4/5

The guest house is warm, inviting and beautifully kept and is run by very friendly people and I would not hesitate in recommending them and look forward to going back soon

Reviewer:Mrs. Bali S | Mon 24th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


This is the place to stay in Yorkshire! - Rating 5/5

We were greeted with tea and fruit cake and the warmest of welcomes.The house is comfortable, ditto the beds.There is an extensive breakfast menu, and the information provided on local history and geography is enthralling. Nothing is too much trouble for Carol and Chris.We know where we're staying when next we are in Richmond!

Reviewer:Jackie Heffernan G | Thu 20th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Overnight stay at West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

We received a warm welcome. Room clean and comfortable.A friendly atmosphere and a wonderful breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. John P | Tue 18th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


West end guest house - Rating 4/5

Warm friendly welcome. Kettle on as soon as we arrived lovely pot of tea with homemade cake. Breakfast selection was very good and very tasty. Good location for walking into Richmond.

Reviewer:Mrs. susan w | Sun 16th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Coast to Coast Charity Run - Rating 5/5

After stopping in a couple of hostels on our journey, our visit to the West End Guest House was a little bit of luxury.This is a splendid house, the rooms are presented very well and generally the facilities were excellent.Our hosts were friendly and welcoming and ensured our stay was an enjoyable one.Perhaps a reaction based on our previous stops at hostels, but there were too many cushions on the bed which all ended up on the floor!I didn't like the soap dispensers in the bathroom as I needed to press them several times to get anything out, but that's just me being picky and overall this was a great place to stay.

Reviewer:Ron P | Sun 16th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


would definitely use again - Rating 5/5

stayed here for a reunion weekend. The hosts, Carol and Chris make you feel very welcome and nothing is too much trouble. Located in quiet spot, 10 mins walk from Richmond town centre. Food was excellent, rooms were very comfortable.Wifi a bit hit & miss in our room, but hardly a catastrophe.Would definitely use again.

Reviewer:Philip A | Tue 4th Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Fruitcake & cheese ! - Rating 5/5

I stayed for two nights. I found this guesthouse to be a very relaxing base for my visit to Richmond. I found the owners, Carol and Chris to be great hosts. Nothing was too much to ask. I was even initiated to eating fruit cake with cheese !. The breakfast on both days was probably the best I have experienced over many years. I will definitely be staying again.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris L | Mon 3rd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Westend b&b Richmond- Rating 5/5

Excellent company.. beautiful warm cosy room.. great night sleep.. excellent cooked breakfast. Very clean throughout. Highly recommended.

Reviewer:Andrew Bazeley ARRIVING L | Sun 2nd Aug 2015 | 3 years ago


Fantastic Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed here for one night as part of our coast to coast walk and upon arrival we were greeted with a lovely cup of coffee and a delicious slice of Fruitcake (served with cheese in the traditional Yorkshire way.Both Carol and Chris are chatty with all the guests and are keen to share their knowledge of Richmond whether it be where to eat or drink or supply you with interesting historic information.That's not bad considering they are both relatively new to the area.The actual accommodation was very comfortable and the quality of ingredients showed in the delicious breakfast.We do have to admit that amongst all our chatting we discovered that we have a mutual friend, but I'm sure that when you read all the other excellent reviews you will realize that we have not been biased in our review.All in all - a truly excellent stay.

Reviewer:Mr. Andrew M | Tue 7th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

We arrived to a very warm welcome, with plenty of information around the surrounding area and choice of eating places. Rooms furnished to high standard and breakfast was delicious.A pity we could only stay one night. Will definitely return.

Reviewer:Marie P | Mon 6th Jul 2015 | 3 years ago


West end guest house - Rating 5/5

Room was small but adequate. Owners very friendly. Good breakfast and an ideal location

Reviewer:Donald W | Sun 28th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent service - Rating 5/5

Had a cosy room, the breakfast was lovely no limit on coffee, Was very helpfull too As I had a screw in my rear motorbike tyre, Carol went online to find me a local garage And offered us more coffee & to stay inside out of the rain. Motorbike friendly

Reviewer:Mr. Matthew S | Fri 26th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Short Break - Rating 5/5

Fantastic,great location,We were made very welcome through out our stay.We found nothing to fault the guest house carol and chris have put a lot of thought into making it perfect.Highly recommend.

Reviewer:Sylvia H | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


A hidden gem - Rating 5/5

What a find! Ideally situated with off road parking West end Guest house was very welcoming and nothing was too much trouble. Owners were very knowledgeable on the local history, landmarks to see and where to eat. Would recommend and stay here again.

Reviewer:Shaun B | Tue 23rd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

Carol and Chris were very friendly and welcoming.Carol made us hot drinks when we arrived and also gave us homemade fruit cake and cheese.The room was a decent size, and toiletries were provided.The bed was very comfortable.We had a choice of breakfast - my husband enjoyed the full English, whilst I enjoyed the eggs benedict.overall, a very enjoyable stay and highly recommended

Reviewer:Lisa C | Mon 22nd Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


A warm friendly welcome - Rating 5/5

We enjoyed three nights at this friendly, comfortable B & B a short walk from Richmond's town centre. Nothing was too much trouble and we were supplied with local information, maps etc to help us make the most of our stay in this lovely area.

Reviewer:Mr. Martin R | Sat 20th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Richmond- Rating 5/5

Excellent host in Carol beautiful room of character only negative she is a city fan

Reviewer:Roy C | Thu 18th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


excellent B&B recommended - Rating 4/5

excellent location just outside centre. Very welcoming Chris and Carol cannot do enough to make your stay a good one. good choice for breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. David H | Tue 16th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


West End bed and breakfast -June 2015. - Rating 5/5

Fantastic stay ,lovely food ,made to feel really welcome,nothing too much trouble,room was comfortable and clean,lovely en-suite.Would definately stay here again.

Reviewer:B | Mon 15th Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Richmond weekend - Rating 5/5

Great hotel and excellent value. Very clean rooms and excellent breakfast.A great friendly place to stay and I would definitely stay there again.

Reviewer:Mr. John C | Mon 1st Jun 2015 | 3 years ago


Ticked all boxes for short stay in the Dales/Durham - Rating 5/5

Excellent service and value for money would stay again

Reviewer:Lewis H | Tue 26th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Very pleasant stay - Rating 5/5

Very well presented guest house, lovely bedroom, friendly owners and they got up early to cook me a lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:David W | Mon 18th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Best B&B in Richmond - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming and friendly. Could not have been of more help. Excellent breakfast. Very clean. Perfect location being quiet and secludedd but a short walk into town. Would definitely visit again.

Reviewer:Monty W | Mon 4th May 2015 | 3 years ago


Brief stop to collect local puppy - Rating 5/5

Fabulous welcome, friendly atmosphere throughout our brief stay. Hope we will return one day.

Reviewer:David V | Fri 1st May 2015 | 3 years ago


wonderful hosts - Rating 5/5

we had a wonderful stay at Westend while visiting family in the area. Chris and Carol were fantastic hosts and couldn't do enough for us, they treated us like old friends! the guesthouse is nicely tucked off the road so it is very peaceful and quiet, the rooms were more than adequate for a couple of nights stay and the breakfasts were great. tea and cake when we arrived was a very welcome gesture

Reviewer:Russell M | Wed 29th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Excellent Accommodation - Rating 5/5

nothing was too much trouble here from the homemade fruit cake/cheese to the breakfast the following morning.we will certainly be visiting again.Hosts Carol and Chris were very accommodating and make you feel at home!

Reviewer:Mr. Stephen H | Tue 21st Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Wonderful stay - Rating 5/5

A last minute booking, got the last room, for a weekend stay in Richmond.From arrival, greeting at the door to leaving the next morning. Everything was faultless.We stayed in Room 3. Lovely bright, clean and welcoming room with ensuite and all the little extras you could need.Carol and Chris made us feel so welcome and shared their knowledge of Richmond and where to wander, eat and drink.Partner commented "it was like visiting family"Thanks again for your hospitality and look forward to staying again.Mike & Emma

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Mon 20th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Redcare Review - Rating 5/5

we were greeted with a smile - even at 2300hrs.! our stay was extremely pleaseant, even though only short.we will be recommending WEGH to all our friends & family. Many thanks, Kevin & Gail.

Reviewer:Redcare L | Tue 7th Apr 2015 | 3 years ago


Made to feel so welcome! - Rating 5/5

My friend and I both agreed that this was the best accommodation that we stayed in during our car tour of England.The house had a fascinating history, the facilities were excellent and the owners couldn't have made us feel more welcome!Would definitely recommend!!

Reviewer:Mr. Bernard C | Sat 27th Dec 2014 | 3 years ago


Thank you - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our stay with you. Lovely room, comfortable bed. a very quiet location. All in all a very pleasant weekend away.Kind Regards Sylvia & Tony

Reviewer:Mrs. Sylvia A | Fri 10th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent - Rating 5/5

I spent a very comfortable night at West End and would definitely recommend a stay here. It's a short walk intothe town centre and the breakfast was very good.

Reviewer:Christine S | Sun 5th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Would Stay Again - Rating 4/5

A very warm and friendly welcome, comfortable beds and an ample breakfast with a good variety of choice. We had everything we needed, and when we asked Carol and Chris for hot water for our flask, they went further and made us coffee to take with us. Although they have only recently taken over the guest house, they have been careful to maintain the high standards of the previous owners.

Reviewer:Mr. Ruaridh M | Sat 4th Oct 2014 | 4 years ago


Reunion - Rating 5/5

I came for a reunion for the convent. It was lovely to be treated with a cup of tea and piece of cake with Wensleydalecheese. The breakfast was fantastic and the accommodationwas good. I would also like to say a big thank you for letting me leave the car for the day after I had checked out.

Reviewer:Miss. Elizabeth B | Sun 10th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Beyond expectations - Rating 5/5

We were very warmly welcomed to a lovely house.The room was immaculate, with high quality decoration, furnishing, and bedding. A lovely experience.The owners were lovely to us throughout our stay, and we wanted for nothing.The breakfast rooms were also elegant and well furnished.The quality of the breakfast cooked by the hosts was equal to this......I have never had such thick, succulent bacon.Delicious.How do they do it?Spotless inside, beautiful outside, gorgeous food, and all done with warm, generous sincerity.It's almost too good to be true!

Reviewer:Mr. James A | Mon 4th Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Pennines Etape - Rating 5/5

We booked into West End for the night to participate in the Pennines Etape cycle event.Ian was really helpful in accommodating a friend at late notice and even better got up at 4:00 am to make us porridge and scrambled eggs to set us up for the day.Excellent service, good clean room, parking off road and secure.Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Simon Von K | Fri 1st Aug 2014 | 4 years ago


Fabulous overnighter - Rating 5/5

had a wonderful stay at Westend - the room was beautifully furnished and sparkling clean. The welcome beyond expectations. A lovely breakfast and help from Ian with mapping for our walk. Ian and Helen were both able to recommend places to eat and drink both for evening meals and for after walking. we will have to return for a longer stay

Reviewer:Marie R | Tue 29th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Great Guest House - Rating 5/5

I would highly recommend the West End Guest House. The room we stayed in was excellent. Helen and Ian are very attentive and nothing is too much trouble. It was the little touches that made it extra special and stand out from other places we have stayed.

Reviewer:Mr. Mark W | Wed 23rd Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Lovely B&B - Rating 5/5

TLC'd throughout. Helen and Ian were incredibly accommodating, friendly and helpful. When we checked in Helen asked us what our plans were to see the area. When we came back downstairs after settling in, she had directions printed out for 3 different options of possible itineraries and things to see. She and Ian are enthusiastic about the area, and they very much want their guests to enjoy their time there. The room was lovely, with all the amenities you could need. The breakfast was amazing, including vegetarian sausage for the asking. A great value for the money! We highly recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Donald C | Mon 21st Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


short stay- Rating 5/5

Had very enjoyable stay. The hosts were very friendly and accommodating. The rooms were very comfortable.The mobile signal was not great in the room but was fine in other parts of the building. Thank you for hospitality and for advising a scenic drive to the north.Would highly recommend this place.

Reviewer:Kadriya A | Sun 20th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Just as it says on the tin - Rating 5/5

Cleanliness, hospitality, food, parking and really everything was first class. I have tried hard to be critical but the only thing I can say is that the sign is obscured when coming from the direction of Reeth. Probably not in Ian and Helen's domain.

Reviewer:Mike C | Tue 15th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


relaxing stay - Rating 5/5

2 days spent at this lovely guest house...happy to stay there forever really! full english breakfast just lovely and the veg breakfast was great..piping hot! Helen and Ian will make you feel most welcome...book now!

Reviewer:Elisabeth S | Mon 14th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Quality accommodation in Richmond - Rating 5/5

A very enjoyable stay in immaculate surroundings and excellent location. Friendly and welcoming hosts, delicious breakfasts and great attention to detail ensure an excellent visit. No hesitation in highly recommending West End Guest House.

Reviewer:Susan T | Sat 12th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


A real home - Rating 4/5

Very friendly reception, excellent breakfast, quiet

Reviewer:Ueli A | Wed 9th Jul 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent Stay - Rating 5/5

On our return from Northumberland we broke our journey in Richmond our stay at West End Guest House was excellent and so was the welcoming cake, cheeese and cup of tea a real touch of Yorkshire.The room was very comfortable with special touches to make you stay good.Breakfast fantastic - we didn't need any lunch!Thankyou to our hosts for an enjoyable stay.

Reviewer:Christine S | Sun 22nd Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


One night stay - Rating 4/5

Very pleasant stay. The owners were very accommodating and friendly. Room very clean and breakfast excellent. Good off street parking facilities - would recommend.

Reviewer:John B | Sun 8th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

Terrific hosts….quiet location and beautifully presented guest house. Helen and Ian's attention to detail is meticulous. The breakfast is something to really look forward to…..the granola and fruit bowl is highly recommended!

Reviewer:Mr. Keith J | Sat 7th Jun 2014 | 4 years ago


Bank holiday weekend - Rating 5/5

Ian and Helen were perfect hosts, greeting us with tea and cake even though we arrived late due to traffic holdups on the drive from London.The room was spotless with a very comfortable bed and lovely en suite shower room.There was a very good choice for breakfast and the full English cooked breakfast was delicious!There is ample off road car parking and the setting is very peaceful and quiet, being set a short distance from the road.The only disappointment was the lack of wifi reception in the bedroomdue the thick stone Walls.

Reviewer:Rodney K | Mon 26th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Ultra comfort and friendliness - Rating 5/5

Dear Helen and IanThank you for a wonderful stay at West End.I wish I could have stayed for longer.Every need and comfort is catered for.You keep West End to a very high standard.Immaculately clean and high quality throughout. Breakfast - couldn't have asked for more and thank you for the earlier than usual start to the day.

Reviewer:Miss. Michelle H | Sat 24th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Wonderful- Rating 5/5

we stayed at this beautiful guest house on 9th May 14. The building is stunning and has a warm homely feel. We were met by Helen who was very welcoming and friendly. The room was immaculate and decorated to a high standard. Helen treated us to tea and cake in the sitting room in the afternoon. Breakfastwas hosted by Ian and Helen and the food was excellent. This really is a wonderful place stay in a beautifularea. Only regretwas we could not stay longer!!

Reviewer:Sion J | Tue 13th May 2014 | 4 years ago


Very nice - Rating 4/5

Spotlessly clean andbreakfast good,Ian and Heather who ownthe Westend are lovely people and make your stay very enjoyable would recommend staying here.

Reviewer:Lorraine C | Fri 2nd May 2014 | 4 years ago


Memorable visit. - Rating 5/5

Comfy, welcoming, wonderful food. Ian and Helen gave us great info about the area ensuring we had a very enjoyable visit. Would certainly stay here again. Thank you both.

Reviewer:Caroll A | Wed 30th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Westend Guest House - Rating 5/5

We received a warm welcome from Helen and Ian and were very pleased with the accommodation, attention to detail to provide the best environment away from home and the excellent breakfast. We would recommend it without reserveThank you Helen and Ian.

Reviewer:Cathy M | Thu 17th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

We were a group of 7 occupying two doubles, a twin and a single. We were warmly welcomed with a delicious afternoon tea. Without exception the rooms were beautifully decorated, well equipped and comfortable. The breakfast was superb. We hope to return soon.

Reviewer:Joy A | Sun 13th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Simply excellent - Rating 5/5

One of the most accommodating places we have ever stayed. The greeting was warm, the breakfasts superb, and nothing was too much trouble.We would certainly recommend it to one and all, and will be visiting again.

Reviewer:Ken S | Sat 12th Apr 2014 | 4 years ago


Richmond - Rating 5/5

Our first stay in Richmond, only for two days though. Miserable weather but we still enjoyed the scenery and the lovely welcome Helen gave us to her homely guest house. We cannot fault the room we stayed in or the big breakfast. Information provided for us, weather, walks and eateries will last us on our next visit. Our thanks again Ian for the lift to the restaurant on my Birthday (Geoff)

Reviewer:GEOFF L | Thu 6th Feb 2014 | 4 years ago


Excellent accommodation - Rating 5/5

I had a very warm welcome after completing a stage of the coast-to-coast walk. My room was beautiful, the bed very comfortable and the breakfast excellent. I thoroughly recommend a stay here.

Reviewer:Shaun M | Fri 20th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Highly recommend- Rating 4/5

Made very welcome at this very nice guest house. Wonderful breakfast . Ideal venue for visiting the dales and Richmond.

Reviewer:Mr. Chris C | Sun 15th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


Excellent B &B! - Rating 5/5

Very comfortable, thoughtful host family, good location, altogether a 'home away from home.

Reviewer:Mr. Robert O | Fri 13th Sep 2013 | 5 years ago


West End Guest House - Rating 4/5

Very good value. Kind and hospitable with good parking facilities.

Reviewer:Mrs. Vanessa B | Sat 31st Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Fabulous Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed for two evenings with Ian and Helen and were warmly welcomed. The room was beautifully decorated with great facilities. The breakfast was fabulous with a great choice freshly cooked and hot. Helen gave us a route of the Dales which gave us a few hours out admiring the beautiful countryside.We had a great stay and hope to visit again soon.

Reviewer:Mrs. Jacqui H | Tue 20th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


So friendly and helpful - Rating 5/5

We really enjoyed our 2-night stay here. Helen and Ian were excellent hosts - so friendly and helpful. The accommodation is absolutely spotless and wonderfully comfortable. The breakfasts were beautifully prepared and delicious. We only had one day to explore the area, but Helen even provided us with a mapped (road) route which made our visit even more rewarding in this beautiful area.

Reviewer:Mr. Gary W | Thu 15th Aug 2013 | 5 years ago


Mid week break - Rating 5/5

A warm welcome like last time we stayed. Most helpful hosts, great position - short walk to Richmond centre, free off road parking, lovely room, big breakfast.

Reviewer:Mrs. Pauline B | Sat 8th Jun 2013 | 5 years ago


High Standard Accommodation - Rating 5/5

Very high standards in every aspect;welcome, comfort, cleanliness, presentation and the choices and quality of the food forbreakfast.I only stayed for one night and wish it could have been longer.Thank you, Helen and Ian, for a lovely stay in your beautiful home.

Reviewer:Miss. Michelle H | Sun 26th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Welcomed at West End - Rating 5/5

Enjoyed 3 nights at West End with spacious room & very comfy bed. Breakfasts especially good & Ian & Helen could not have been more helpful. Richmond is a lovely place & we managed the steep walks that you had to do to see as much as possible.Loved the theatre.

Reviewer:Mrs. Wendy G | Mon 20th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Stayed at the West End Guest House as it had good reviews on the Richmond places of interst web site.It did not disappoint.The owners were welcoming and could not do enough for us. The rooms were clean and comforable and the breakfast outstanding.Really good location as well.Would definitely stay again.

Reviewer:Miss. Jane S | Sun 19th May 2013 | 5 years ago


Superb - Rating 5/5

Stayed fo 2 nights, nice greeting, very enjoyable, spotless clean, rooms are just what you need, excellent food, Helen is a walking, talking tour guide of the local area, Ian adds to the morning experiance with a bit of banter, 10 minutes walk from Richmond, all in all 10 out of 10, could not have asked for more.

Reviewer:Mr. Charles H | Mon 29th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Very enjoyable stay in comfortable surroundings.

Reviewer:Ms. Alison W | Sat 13th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Great Place to Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed at the West End Guest House for two nights last weekend (5th-7th April) Helen and Ian were both very welcoming. We stayed in Room 3, a small double. When Ian showed us to the room, he explained that a larger twin room was available, but we opted for the double, and it was absolutely fine for the duration of our stay. The room was immaculately clean, the bed was comfortable and there was quality shower gel/shampoo, etc in the en-suite.We both enjoyed the breakfasts, there was a good choice catering for all tastes, the food was freshly cooked, ample portions and swiftly served.The West End Guest House is very clean and comfortable. It has the advantage of having parking on site, and it is only a 10 minute, easy walk to the centre of Richmond. It is a very good base for this part of the Dales and also for the Coast to Coast walkers.Ian was willing to give local information regarding places of interest and places to eat, although we were part of an organised group, and had a very full programme planned for our stay including our evening meals.There is no doubt Helen and Ian work hard to provide a very good service. We were very happy with our stay and would recommend the West End to family and friends.

Reviewer:Mrs. Hazel J | Thu 11th Apr 2013 | 5 years ago


Enjoyable weekend - Rating 4/5

A great weekend at West End.The hosts were thoughtful and helpful.Good clean room - well appointed.Great breakfast - sustaining for a day on the hills, and tasty too.

Reviewer:Mr. Edmund B | Wed 6th Mar 2013 | 5 years ago


If you want somewhere to go for a few days ... - Rating 5/5

Extremely welcoming;Ian & Helen very knowledgeable of surrounding area, especially places to eat - we can recommend the Turf Hotel and Thai Restaurant (also Lilly's Cafe - scones are huge).Lovely home, excellent room, great attention to detail and the breakfast was superb! We recommend without hesitation.Thank you for making our stay enjoyable.

Reviewer:Mrs. Kathryn A | Tue 26th Feb 2013 | 5 years ago


Wonderful Guest House - Rating 5/5

Absolutely superb. Everything anyone could wish for in a guest house. Cosy,warm,welcoming and run by a couple Ian and Helen who couldn't do enough for you, plus that fantastic breakfast. We will definitely return and I would recommend it to anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Ramon D | Mon 26th Nov 2012 | 6 years ago


Perfect Retreat - Rating 5/5

A wonderful warm welcome to a beautiful home. Comfortable bed and a great breakfast to start the day. Nothing was too much trouble.

Reviewer:Mrs. Julia L | Sun 14th Oct 2012 | 6 years ago


Motorcycle Tour - Rating 5/5

We received a very warm welcome from Helen & Ian & somewhere safe to park the bike. The accommodation & food were all we had hoped for. We hope to be back.

Reviewer:Mr. Ross B | Sat 8th Sep 2012 | 6 years ago


Comfort assured - Rating 5/5

We had an enjoyable overnight stay here on a busy bank holiday weekend.The property is within easy reach of Richmond with secure parking in a quiet location. There's a warm welcome here from Helen and Ian and the house was absolutely spotless. We loved being able to order breakfast the night before and there's plenty to choose from too. Friendly, relaxed hosts who genuinely care for their guests. There's everything you need, even down to a little sewing kit. Better than the 'top hotels' we've stayed in.We highly recommend it.

Reviewer:Mrs. Eileen S | Mon 27th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my 2 night stay at the guest house;I had a friendly, warm welcome despite arriving as a walker and somewhat dirty and dishevelled! My bag had been taken to my room and my host was more than willing to do my washing. The room was lovely, had everything I could have needed, and the breakfast was absolutely excellent with a great choice. I couldn't have asked for more!

Reviewer:Miss. Richander B | Thu 16th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


A gem! - Rating 5/5

What a find! We had a very warm welcome with tea and cake (with Wensleydale cheese) even though we were only staying one night. The standard of accommodation was exceptional. The breakfast was delicious. We will be back!

Reviewer:Mrs. Susan E | Tue 14th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Best B&B - Rating 5/5

We spent a weekend at Westend to enjoy the delights of the Dales and we had the most fantastic stay. Ian and Helen are the most wonderfully friendly and hospitable people and we can honestly say that this is the best B& B we have ever stayed in. The room was immaculate, very comfortable and very tastefully decorated. The food was great and the hosts went well beyond our expectations on every aspect. We will definately be back.

Reviewer:Mr Simon Smith| Tue 7th Aug 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly Recommended - Rating 5/5

Lovely place to stay,quiet,peaceful. Very spacious and comfortable room topped off with a lovely breakfast.

Reviewer:Mr. Pat H | Sun 3rd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Great - Rating 5/5

Thoroughly recommended! Great hosts, location and accommodation.

Reviewer:Mr. Michael B | Sat 2nd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Festival Stay - Rating 5/5

West End is special for me as it was my mothers home. It is now a lovely B and B Very friendly hosts and very clean and professional service. The breakfasts are excellent and it is a truly 5 star establishment.

Reviewer:Mr. WilliamW | Sat 2nd Jun 2012 | 6 years ago


Wonderful ! - Rating 5/5

I was visiting Richmond for the first time and given a very warm welcome on arrival by Ian and Helen. The room was very clean and well equipped. The Full English Breakfast was irresistible and sufficient to keep me going for the full day on a 10 mile walk around the dales..I will certainly stay again if I get the chance to visit Richmond again and would like to thank Ian and Helen for their hospitality.

Reviewer:Mr. Antony F | Mon 28th May 2012 | 6 years ago


staying at West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

Helen and Ian always have a warm welcome to match the high standards of the guest rooms and the breakfast quality and choice is excellent. Highly recomended.

Reviewer:Mr. Colin P | Thu 17th May 2012 | 6 years ago


Excellent bed and breakfast. - Rating 5/5

Excellent in every respect.The premises were immaculate throughout and very stylish in decoration and every other respect.The breakfast was choicely, plentiful and very well presented.Helen and Ian were very welcoming, cordial and a pleasure to meet.Nothing was any trouble and they made our stay very enjoyable.I would certainly recommend the West End Guest House to others and we would have no hesitation in returning there when we are holidaying in the area again.

Reviewer:Mr. Kenneth B | Mon 2nd Apr 2012 | 6 years ago


Highly recommended - Rating 5/5

The best B & B I used while walking the Coast to Coast. Yummy fruit cake and cheese on arrival, meticulously maintained house, excellent breakfast and competitive price for single room occupancy. A 10 minute walk from the town centre the only problem if you have already had a long day.

Reviewer:Mr. Anthony W | Tue 20th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


A Gem! - Rating 4/5

What a friendly welcome we received from Helen on our arrival. She showed us to our room which was a beautifully decorated and furnished double with a huge bed! The en-suite, created from what had obviously once been a cupboard, was a little cramped, but what it lacked in space it made up for in being amazingly well appointed. There was everything we needed, and more!Helen made us coffee which she served with fruit slice and local cheese, by way of a welcome to West End House. After our journey, this was much appreciated.Breakfasts at West End are generous and beautifully prepared by Helen herself, with a vast selection available.In short, this is a superbly comfortable, friendly place to stay and we would have no hesitation in returning here and recommending it to friends. One teensy point which would improve things?The breakfast times (7.30am - 8.30am) are a shade early for leisure travellers! Even a half-hour extension to 9am would be an improvement.Many thanks are due to Helen and Ian for a wonderful stay. We rteluctantly departed, vowing to return one day soon.

Reviewer:Mr. Alan T | Sat 17th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Very Enjoyable Stay - Rating 5/5

We stayed on a Sunday evening in winter for just a one night stay to break up our journey. This was our third stay over a number of years and Ian & Helen were very welcoming when we arrived. We were offered tea and cake on arrival and were also given a choice of rooms. We were helped with choosing a pub or restaurant for the evening which was only a short walk away. A good nights sleep followed in a really comfortable room. Breakfast was very filling with quality ingredients being used. Ian and Helen were very attentive to our needs and we would recommend West End Guest House for anyone.

Reviewer:Mr. Kevin B | Tue 6th Mar 2012 | 6 years ago


Great B & B - Rating 4/5

We stayed for 4 nights recently, and Ellen and Ian spare no effort to make sure their guests are comfortable and made welcome. The room was spotlessly clean, and the bed very comfortable. The breakfasts are really superb, and very well cooked, with efforts to provide as much high-quality local produce as possible. We already know the area very well but, for anyone who doesn't, Ellen and Ian have taken a lot of care in providing a file with really extensive information on the local area and all it has to offer, so that guests can make the most of their stay.The only comment we would make is that the shower of the particular room we stayed in is a bit of a squeeze for anyone over 6 foot, but there are plenty of others to choose from, and the owners can obviously advise. It was a most enjoyable stay, and we wish Ellen and Ian all the best, as they deserve success in their business.

Reviewer:Mr. Ian B | Thu 19th Jan 2012 | 6 years ago


An excellent stay - Rating 5/5

One night travelling en-route to north. Good car parking. Warm welcome. Warm room. Comfortable bed. Ensuite shower room perfect. Breakfast wonderful. Efficient and courteous administration. Can't fault this guest House and highly recommend.

Reviewer:Mr. David B | Thu 15th Dec 2011 | 6 years ago


Long Weekend - Rating 5/5

Very welcoming whilst at the same time efficient and professional. Room comfortable;breakfast very good and plenty of choice.Helen and Ian proactive in responding to our wishes.Chris and Pat McConville

Reviewer:Mr. Chris M | Mon 31st Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Oh, that breakfast! - Rating 5/5

Extremely comfortable, friendly, informative hosts, all mod cons. And, oh, those breakfasts. Variety, quality - and black pudding!

Reviewer:Mr. Steve D | Sun 30th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Perfect. - Rating 5/5

Perfect. A wonderful place to stay. The guest house is a lovely house to stay in and the hospitality from Helen and Ian is second to none. We will be sure to return.

Reviewer:Mrs. Allison S | Sat 22nd Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


West End Guest House - Rating 5/5

West End Guest house was a lovely place to stay. Helen and Ian made us feel very welcome. The food and accommodation were excellent. We would definitely stay there again

Reviewer:Mrs. Karen C | Sat 8th Oct 2011 | 7 years ago


Friendly Professionalism Personified - Rating 5/5

I stayed at West End Guest House for a week during the Richmond Walking Festival in September/October 2010.Having stayed in many guest houses over the years I was greatly impressed by1) the very high standards of cleanliness,2) the interesting and very well prepared breakfast menu,3) the very friendly and helpful owners.So taken was I that I had to return in September 2011 to introduce my wife to this exceptional guest house.

Reviewer:Mr. John M | Tue 20th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Overnight stay to attend a wedding - Rating 4/5

I had a very friendly welcome and found the location was perfect, very well maintained clean,comfortable, with good in-room facilities and secure, ample parking.Breakfast was very good and of a varied choice.I would be happy to recommend this Guest House.

Reviewer:Ms. Linda P | Sun 18th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


A Very Nice Place - Rating 5/5

West End Guest House is lovely!Helen and Ian are very friendly and welcoming. The food is very tasty and the rooms are very comfortable.We really appreciated the cup of tea and slice of cake on our arrival. It was a nice touch and something we haven't found anywhere else.We thoroughly recommend West End Guest House to anyone wishing to stay in the Richmond area and will definitely stay there again ourselves!

Reviewer:Mrs. Heidi T | Sat 17th Sep 2011 | 7 years ago


Overnight stay - Rating 4/5

Our overnight stay in this guest house was extremely pleasant.Although the room was on the small side it had everything we required and the bathroom was very well equipped. The breakfast was probably one of the best I have eaten in any hotel or bed and breakfast and completing the breakfast slip the night before was a great idea.As we were only staying one night our needs were fairly simple but Ian and Helen were a lovely couple and were excellent hosts.Overall an excellent place to stay and a wonderful breakfast to start the next day.Thank you very much.

Reviewer:Ms. Frances M | Mon 1st Aug 2011 | 7 years ago


A Richmond welcome - Rating 5/5

Thank you to you both for a fantastic stay last week.It was obvious how much effort you have put into making West End Guest House such a wonderful place to stay.Every home comfort has been thought of and I was made to feel very welcome.Look forward to staying with you again in the very near future.

Reviewer:Mrs. Francesca M | Mon 27th Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Welcome - Rating 5/5

Thank you for our short stay at the Westend Guest house. Everything was spotless and welcoming and we enjoyed the banter at breakfast. All the best and hopefully we will see you again in November.

Response

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again.RegardsIan and Helen

Reviewer:Mrs. JILL CANNON| Tue 21st Jun 2011 | 7 years ago


Lovely - Rating 5/5

I really enjoyed my stay in this B and B.I had a single en suite room which was very quiet, clean and had facilities that you may not find in four star hotels! I really had a feeling as if I was in a hotel. Helen and Ian were really nice and friendly. Breakfast – large with a range of food to choose from – cold or warm, starter and then main breakfast – I really felt spoilt.

Response

Thank you for your review and we hope to see you again. (we have just found the reply button)RegardsIan and Helen

Reviewer:Mrs. Ana I | Sat 28th May 2011 | 7 years ago


A Little Gem - Rating 5/5

A little gem for anyone staying in the Richmond area. We were really impressed with the room which was fantastic as was the breakast which kept us going all day! We were made to feel very welcome and "at home"We would stay again! Rev & Mrs Smith, Winchester

Reviewer:Mrs. Mairead S | Mon 23rd May 2011 | 7 years ago


Thank You - Rating 5/5

Ian and Helen are very welcoming hosts and I thoroughly enjoyed my night in their beautiful Guest House.I will most certainly be staying there again.

Reviewer:Ms. Penny S | Sun 8th May 2011 | 7 years ago